Yup, this motherfucker is dead

So, I guess the Rays hit the hell out of only the Red Sox and Steve Irwin?

Go figure that the Crocodile Hunter died. Now, here’s the thing, I really can’t do justice to this death. I mean, part of me wants to crack jokes because the guy was a moron, but another part of me can only get that far. I mean, there’s not a whole lot to say about this guy other than:

Steve, look, your show peaked FIVE years ago…it’s been going for ten…just, ummm, hey, yeah, you might want to stop rolling the dice with these animals. Take your little kid to the frickin’ ZOO like normal parents and stop trying to DIE.

On the upside, though, Irwin always wanted footage of his death at the hands of one of these animals that he tormented and I’m pretty sure he got his wish.

Now, because that’s all I have to say about Irwin’s death, I did happen to put together a collection of remarks about his death once you click on read more…

Title of a thread on IMDBs Croc Hunter board: is he really dead?

Post Content: and if so will his show still air?

OH MY GOD, I’M SO SAD! POOR STEVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And later…
BOOOOOOOO HOOOOO HOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

After someone accuses this person of sarcasm…

I was not being sarcastic. I was crying, but replying to my own post. I said “Boo hoo hoo” on other posts and so did other people. I wasn’t being sarcastic, I’m sad! He’s my favorite person!
I WAS NOT BEING SARCASTIC, SO YOU HAVE NO REASON TO THINK THAT!!!!!!!

Textual sarcasm is always a tricky thing, but I mean, typing BOO HOO into a message board post about Steve Irwin dying would work really well in the textual sarcasm department.

Is Steve (what’s his name) crocodile hunter dead?

– Yahoo! Answers…UK version

Fatally injured “Crocodile Hunter” Steve Irwin pulled a stingray’s serrated barb from his chest before he lost consciousness and died.

No doubt, the dude was badass.

“The cameraman had to shut down. It’s a very hard thing to watch because you’re actually witnessing somebody die … it’s terrible,” Stainton said.
Yeah, a dude gets stabbed by a deathray…you’re going to shut the camera down and start yelling about some damn antibiotics.

The animal world has taken revenge on self-deluded animal tormentor Steve Irwin, according to expatriate Australian academic and writer Germaine Greer.
This Greer also went on to say she had no sympathy for Irwin. I definitely should have contacted her to write this post.

“The crocodile would rather have been anywhere else and the chicken had a grim life too, but that’s entertainment at Australia Zoo.”
More from the same person, who also went on to talk about how animals just needed space and Irwin refused to give it to them. It’s a solid point, I mean, I can’t imagine animals liking the things he does to them. Solid indication would be when you see snakes trying to venom the hell out of Irwin and elephants chasing the man down.

But, the flip side to this tormenting of animals is that even if you agree that Irwin pissed animals off…he raised more money to help animals than this Greer fool has ever done.

That’s why it’s hard to rip Irwin right now. Yes, Irwin was a jackass, but he did a lot of good for animals even if he annoyed the shit out of them on occasion. So what if he threw his little baby into a pit of snakes? So what if he put his baby in the jaw of a crocodile and said, “G’day mate, have anotha bite of my kiddy!”

The guy was apparently alright with dying to do what he did. Clearly I’m not going to shed a tear for the man, though.

16 comments
  1. This reminds me of that movie “Grizzly Man” that came out about that nut job living with grizzly bears up in Alaska. I’m sure no one saw those bears getting hungry and EATING HIM AND HIS GIRLFRIEND. It was only a matter of time before our friend Steve got killed or mauled. Lets be honest, that is why most of us watched and probably why the viewership dropped over time and his show ended up getting canned. People will only watch stuff like that long enough before they get bored. I mean this is just like how no one outside of Tennessee watches NASCAR except to see if there is some horrific crash. Sure its morbid and probably wrong, but its hard to argue that it isn’t part of human nature.

  2. J said:

    “the guy was a moron”

    He never fought traffic going back and forth to a mind-numbing job in an office building. He traveled the world. He earned enough money to do what he wanted, when he wanted. He didn’t hang around long enough to be worried about cancer of the ass-hole or prostate. Doesn’t sound like a dumb-ass to me.

  3. Well, he did happen to die at the age of 44 via stingray dagger to the chest…that he sought out.

    Left a young kid too, right? The world’s not just about making money, traveling and doing what you want to do.

  4. Melt said:

    I’m a proud Aussie. Yes Steve may have had his faults, but we all do. No he didn’t “torment” croc’s…he placed them in his sanctuary or the other option for these animals was death. He also invested time/effort & passion into wildlife conservation. Not just in Australia, but O/S. He definately wasn’t everyones “cup of tea”, but one thing you can’t say is he was doing all this just for the money. He has two children not one, & always believed that when it’s your time, it’s your time. I could put to you that we place our lives at risk getting into a car. His legacy is huge, far greater than alot of us. I respect your opinion, but don’t agree. Maybe read more about “Wildlife Warriors” & you will see more than just “the Crocodile Hunter”.

  5. Melt said:

    I have put the link to “Wildlife Warriors” in website for you to have a look…

  6. He didn’t torment ANY animals? Ever? I’m pretty sure that sting ray begs to differ.

    On these points…

    “He also invested time/effort & passion into wildlife conservation.” and “but one thing you can’t say is he was doing all this just for the money.”

    If what I wrote came off as this, well, it wasn’t my intentions. I do think the man is absolutely nutty. I mean, he wrestled CROCODILES. He tormented stingrays! But, I did make mention in my post that I can’t criticize these methods too much because he has raised a ton of money and awareness for these animals. Which is a really good thing. I’m not really ripping him for these things. I just think that he should have slowed down when his TV show kind of leveled off and he was increasing awareness still. He could have taken less risks to his life and still accomplished some of these goals once he gained that popularity.

    “. I could put to you that we place our lives at risk getting into a car.”

    As Al Pacino said in Heat… “you can get killed walkin’ your doggy”, to which I think that’s a very good point if you’re talking about situations where you aren’t creating so much damn risk.

  7. J said:

    Sometimes you just have to be who you are.

  8. Just Livin’ man…L-I-V-I-N.

    I get that part of it. But, sometimes if you do things that others consider to be moronic…you’re going to get called a moron. It’s not an indictment of his life. I sure as hell did not spend too much time contemplating it, it’s simply an observation.

  9. Right, well I’m not sure Steve would have identified himself as the “Killed by a stingray trying to get back on TV by pimping out my daughter for a documentary” dude. I guess I should just be happy that what I am isn’t someone with complete disregard for my own survival instincts.

  10. incidentalreflections said:

    Doug, I just wanted to put forward another point of view.

    If Steve were alive, would you be posting about his antics? My point being, that you obviously are looking for a reaction, that’s clear just by the title you have given this. You also quoted Germaine Greer, she loves a good shit stir too ;). So we’ll agree to disagree. Take care.

  11. incidentalreflections said:

    Also known as Melt. Like the way you responded, still don’t agree, but you worded it well.

  12. It’s always great to see other points of view to everything that I write. As for would I post about his antics? Probably not in 2006, had I done this blog four years ago, it would be possible. Certainly the title is looking for a reaction to a certain extent, but mainly, it comes from anytime The Crocodile Hunter came up in conversation, someone usually questions the extreme nature of what he does.

    As for Greer, I hadn’t known that Greer and the Crocodile Hunter had a past of this nature, just thought it was a random quote.

    Thanks for the comment and link to the wildlifewarriors web-site.

  13. Melt said:

    No worries, glad you took a look at Wildlife Warriors. I didn’t even realise until his death just how much he was doing O/S etc. His antics sure made people notice…that we both agree on.

  14. Croc Hunter was a good man who also loved his wife and family.
    I was sad to hear about his death, but he died doing what he loves. I dont know how many people you know that do something they love. Sometimes you get stuck in a dead end job making bolts for 35 years, just to go home, sit on the porch and drink beer until you die. This guy has seen many things and has been all over the world.

    I pray for him and the stingray.

    ChaChi4a20

  15. I think this notion that Irwin was some kind of hero for doing something he loved is missing the point. No one is saying he didn’t love doing what he was, but that doesn’t preclude a person from loving to do MORONIC things. Moronic is certainly a subjective term, but if you need to find some consesus ask the average person if holding deadly snakes, wrestling giant crocidiles and evidently pissing off the wrong stingray and they are likely to say something along the lines of “Damn, dude is not right in the head.” The fact that Irwin had done this for so long, and had “proper” training in dealing with such animals only goes to further prove the point that there is no true way to control your interactions with these animals, thus making it inherently dangerous. So yeah, he died doing what he loved to do, but maybe the real question should be “Why would you love doing something that could so easily and quickly lead to your death?”

  16. J said:

    I can think of half a dozen shows with guys doing more or less what Irwin did. This one brit in particular manages to get bitten by deadly snakes periodically, but his shows, like his snake wrangling, aren’t very good, and I can’t think of his name. He’s not dead. (Well, his career probably is). My point; none of them have ever been killed by their antics. Maybe it’s not that dangerous if you know what you’re doing.

    The unfortunate Irwin managed to get himself killed by a stingray, which is being widely reported as a very difficult thing to do. Hero or moron? Like Ryan suggested, it’s subjective. That Irwin was unlucky, however, is painfully obvious. He was also entertaining. Who’d have figured he’d be polarizing?

Leave a Reply

