Archive

Daily Archives: October 28, 2006

Ok all of you NFL fans… I have a question for you. This question centers around two rules: the first being that in the NFL, for a catch in the end zone to be a touchdown the player must have both feet inbounds when he comes down; and the second being that as long as the ball has crossed the plane of the endzone it is a touchdown. Here’s my hypothetical… What is the result when a player jumps into the air over the endzone line and catches a ball (while technically in the endzone), however, before both of his feet touch in the endzone, the top half of his body leans forward (this includes the ball) over the endzone line (back out of the endzone towards the one yard line). It is this way when he touches the ground. Is it a touchdown, since the ball crossed the plane, and his feet were technically in the endzone when he landed with the ball…. or is it not a touchdown, since the ball was technically still on the playing field and not in the endzone when his feet touched and when he was down?