Riddle me this….

Ok all of you NFL fans… I have a question for you. This question centers around two rules: the first being that in the NFL, for a catch in the end zone to be a touchdown the player must have both feet inbounds when he comes down; and the second being that as long as the ball has crossed the plane of the endzone it is a touchdown. Here’s my hypothetical… What is the result when a player jumps into the air over the endzone line and catches a ball (while technically in the endzone), however, before both of his feet touch in the endzone, the top half of his body leans forward (this includes the ball) over the endzone line (back out of the endzone towards the one yard line). It is this way when he touches the ground. Is it a touchdown, since the ball crossed the plane, and his feet were technically in the endzone when he landed with the ball…. or is it not a touchdown, since the ball was technically still on the playing field and not in the endzone when his feet touched and when he was down?

Advertisements
2 comments
  1. It’s not a touchdown because the ball has to cross the plane of the goalline with the player having possession of the ball. A player doesn’t have possession until they get the feets down.

  2. Benny B. said:

    I agree with Doug

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: